Iceland Awaits…

on

Laying in bed late at night when I was younger I would find myself staring out beyond my curtains towards the bright northern star in the night sky. In my dreams I would be transported hundreds of miles north to the mystical frozen lands bordering the arctic. While I’ve always naturally preferred tropical places, there is something magical about these lands on the frontier where nature is king.

Years later and I’m now finally about to travel to Iceland… Years of flying southwards and now for the first time, I’m heading to the frozen steppes of the edge of the world.

As a geographer, I cannot wait to see the abundance of geographical features found in Iceland… I’ve seen glaciers before, but only in the Alps and never of the scale of Iceland. Geysers, waterfalls, lava tubes, hot pools and a landscape scarred and shaped by the earth itself.

As a historian, I long to learn more about history of Iceland and to discover more of its Viking settlements and Saga’s.

But most of all, I cannot wait to see the simply spectacular natural scenery that Iceland has to offer and to explore as much of the island as we possibly can during our week there and if we are fortunate enough to see the Northern Lights, then that will be great, but truthfully, it’s not why we are going… We are going to fulfil a childhood dream and to follow that little wanderlust bug that lurks in us all… There are lands north of us up towards the arctic and we cannot wait to see it.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Diane Frisch says:

    Sounds like a spectacular journey!

    Like

  2. Bipasha says:

    Be prepared to be awestruck every step of the way, enjoy!!

    Like

    1. Tom says:

      Thank you, it was absolutely amazing! I was definitely awestruck!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

